Personal tools
You are here: Home 2003 Vol.35 No.3, July/August 2003 SIGCHI 2003 Election Results
Document Actions

SIGCHI 2003 Election Results

This article details the SIGCHI Officer Election results. It also reports back on the vote to change the SIGCHI by-laws, and what the next steps are for their implementation.

Below are the results of the SIGCHI election. Regarding the bylaws changes, we were just under the ten percent turnout (which is average for an ACM Special Interest Group (SIG) this year) required to meet the minimum to approve a bylaws change. Nevertheless, the vote was overwhelmingly in favor of the proposed changes. The proposed bylaws now go to ACM’s SIG Governing Board Executive Committee. They are expected to approve the bylaws.

For more information on the election results, including vote tallies, please contact ACM headquarters. The following individuals were elected to serve as SIGCHI officers for the term 1 July 2003 - 30 June 2005 (2006 if the by-laws are approved):

* CHAIR: Joseph A. Konstan, Dept. of Computer Science & Engineering, University of Minnesota * VICE-CHAIR: Mary Czerwinski, Microsoft Research * CHAIR FOR PUBLICATIONS: Marilyn Salzman * CHAIR FOR OPERATIONS: Alan Wexelblat, Bremer Associates, Inc. * VICE CHAIR FOR FINANCE: Robert J.K. Jacob, Department of Computer Science, Tufts University * VICE CHAIR FOR COMMUNICATIONS: Julie A. Jacko, Industrial & Systems Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology * VICE CHAIR FOR CONFERENCES: Dennis Wixon, Microsoft Corporation


* Approve the Bylaw Changes: 361 * Disapprove the Bylaw Changes: 17 * Abstain: 63 * No Votes: 11 * Invalid 8

As of 10 July 2003, 460 ballots were returned, counted, and recounted at ACM headquarters.

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: